DocID: 14368 - How do I add files and folders to Documents To Go Desktop?
DataViz, Inc. DATAVIZ-HOME

How do I add files and folders to Documents To Go Desktop?

Document ID: 14368
Last Reviewed: 6/30/2010

This document applies to:
Documents To Go for iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad

Printer Friendly  Printer Friendly


Question:

How do I add files and folders to Documents To Go Desktop?

Answer:

There are two basic ways to add files and folders to Documents To Go Desktop on your computer:

  • Move files & folders into the My DocsToGo folder on your computer.
  • Add folders to the Documents To Go Desktop application on your computer.

You can use whichever method you like. Both methods are described below:

 

Move files & folders into the My DocsToGo folder:

The first time you successfully pair your iPad/iPhone/iPod touch with the Documents To Go Desktop application, a folder named "My DocsToGo" will be created in the Documents folder on your computer, and a shortcut to this folder will be created on the Desktop:

Mac:

 

Windows:

This folder will automatically be added to Documents To Go Desktop. Simply move files (or folders containing files) into the My DocsToGo folder, and they will be copied to the device the next time you synchronize.

 

Add folders to the Documents To Go Desktop application:

Instead of moving files & folders into the My DocsToGo folder, you can add additional folders to Documents To Go Desktop by dragging & dropping them into the program (or by using the "Add Folder" button). These folders will sync with the device the same way the My DocsToGo folder does.

After adding a folder, you can double-click on it in the Documents To Go Desktop program (or use the "Edit Folder" button) to see list of all the supported items that exist within that folder. By default, all supported items inside the folder will be synchronized (you can uncheck any items that you do not want to sync to your device).

NOTE: If you remove a folder from Documents To Go Desktop, it will not be deleted from your computer, but it will no longer sync with your device.